Blacksmith Shop

Demonstrations at the Blacksmith Shop are a memorable Shelburne Museum experience. The one-room brick shop was built around 1800 (a frame addition was built later), and it was moved from its location near the Shelburne railroad to the Museum in 1955. It displays nineteenth- and early twentieth-century blacksmithing tools and shows how early American communities depended on their “village smithy” for tools, utensils, agricultural implements, architectural hardware, vehicle parts, and fitting shoes for horses and oxen. Daily demonstrations show how this important trade was practiced in the early twentieth century.